Worldly Interactions

I was a very sheltered child. It’s not something I try to hide and it’s not something that goes unnoticed after I’ve missed all of your Simpson and New Girl jokes. I was homeschooled from kindergarten through 8th grade after which I attended private, Christian school for 9th and 10th grade and then (finally) received my full dousing of culture when I attended public school in 11th and 12th grade. As a “good, Christian girl” I was raised to reject TV shows with compromised morals, music with curse words, and movies with crude jokes. I don’t say this to burn my parents for the way they raised me, I like to think I turned out okay, but it does lay the foundation for my interactions with culture today.

An excerpt of Turner’s book on Christianity Today payed homage to one of my favorite “Turnerisms”: “The Christian doesn’t have the option of being passively educated by culture. Writing to the Romans Paul says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you’ll be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will” (Rom. 12:2). (read the full article here).

Due to my “sheltered” upbringing, was never taught to be actively educated by culture. As my childhood and teen years progressed, I began to engage in culture that my parents might not have agreed with (sorry mom and dad…) but because I was never taught to evaluate culture (I was taught to avoid it altogether) I became the haphazard consumer that Turner warns of in his book.

I am beginning to learn more about interacting with culture and I now realize the beauty in things that aren’t specifically “Christian.” As Graham Shearer said, “Christian” thinking “blinds us to where the Devil has laid traps for our affections and stops us from giving glory to Christ for the beauty, truth, and goodness we see in it that is rightfully his. (read the full article here).

Leave a Reply

